Reece Waldock AM

Mr Reece Waldock AM

Chair, PATREC Board

Mr Waldock was appointed as the Chair of the PATREC Board in April 2017. He is an adjunct Professor at UWA and is a board member of Infrastructure Australia.

Appointed as the head of the State Government’s three Transport portfolio agencies in May 2010, Reece held a unique leadership position within the WA public sector, as Director General of the Department of Transport, Commissioner of Main Roads WA and Chief Executive Officer of the Public Transport Authority.  In this role, Reece was responsible for setting the strategic direction of transport in the State, shaping the development of a number of major integrated transport plans and leading the implementation of some of WA’s most transformational capital projects.

With more than 35 years’ experience in strategic management, with particular expertise in organisational reform, his appointment as Director General of Transport culminated a 20-year journey within various State Government transport agencies with 14 years as a CEO. Prior to his public sector career, Reece held a number of senior management roles with BHP.

Reece was also a Commissioner of the Western Australian Planning Commission, was on the Board of Lifeline WA, and was a Director of the Australian Urban Design Research Centre.

Past and present Board roles include Deputy Chair of Lifeline WA; Director of Leadership WA; Director Australasian Railway Association; Chair of UITP Australia; Commissioner WAPC; Director AUDRC; and Chair CILT (WA).

Steve Beyer

Mr Steve Beyer

Director, Portfolio Strategic Projects Office, Department of Transport

Steve Beyer has over 30 years’ experience working with WA transport agencies. Steve’s career focus is on providing clear strategic vision for development of the transport system in serving the Government, industry and the community; and being an inspiring, ethical and effective leader in harnessing change and delivering solutions.

Over the past decade, he has established a strategic focus on long term transport network plans and strategies for Moving People and Moving Freight; led feasibility studies for new transit systems; overseen new investment in cycling infrastructure; and defined new directions for freight network planning.

Steve is a Fellow of Leadership WA from the 2008 Signature Leadership program.

Peter Woronzow

Mr Peter Woronzow

Managing Director, Main Roads Western Australia

Peter has worked within Main Roads for 36 years, most recently as Executive Director Financial and Commercial Services.  He was Acting Managing Director, responsible for the day to day operations of the organisation, from July 2016 until the commencement of this his present position was confirmed in 2018.

Peter’s extensive experience in account, procurement and management provides strong, strategic leadership in managing financial, corporate and commercial solutions.

He is a member of CPA Australia and represents Main Roads on the Boards of Austroads and AARB Group.

David Caddy

Mr David Caddy

Chair, Western Australian Planning Commission

David Caddy is the Chair of the Western Australian Planning Commission. He previously spent 41 years at a senior management level specialising in statutory planning, strategic and structure planning, development control, project management and documentation, corporate property portfolio management, policy formulation and delivery, planning advocacy and presentation of Town Planning appeals. He is also an accredited mediator with LEADR.

Mr Caddy has a broad range of experience incorporating master-planned communities, multiple dwelling projects, industrial projects, commercial projects, education and infrastructure projects to urban design analysis, strategic planning and development of planning controls. He has been successfully representing parties in Town Planning Appeals for over three decades, and his advice on policy formation and delivery is sought after by both local and state government.

Mr Caddy has been an Adjunct Professor of Urban & Regional Planning at the  University of Western Australia since 2010, teaching statutory planning and coordinating student practicum placements.

Ian Duncan

Mr Ian Duncan

Executive Manager, Infrastructure at WA Local Government Association Ian works with elected Councillors and Local Government offices to provide strong representation for Local Governments and enhance their capacity to deliver services to the community. His responsibilities include policy and programs covering roads, transport services, asset management and road safety. Previously Ian was the Landcare Coordinator for Western Australia, working with groups of landholders seeking to improve land management practices and capacity. Originally trained as an agricultural economist and agronomist, Ian has many years of management experience in the fertilisers and industrial chemicals industries including fertiliser sales manager for CSBP Ltd and manager of Australian Gold Reagents Pty Ltd. Ian is the State Representative for Mission Aviation Fellowship Australia, a not-for-profit organisation providing air transport in places around the world of greatest human need. He is married with two boys and is active in organisations they are involved in, including chairman of the local Scout Group. Ian is a Fellow of Leadership WA from the 2012 Signature Program.
Kerry Brown

Professor Kerry Brown

 School of Business and Law, Edith Cowan University

Kerry Brown is the Professor of Employment and Industry in the School of Business and Law at Edith Cowan University and Director of the Research Centre for Innovative Practice at ECU. She is the Leader for the Governance and Organisational Planning Program of the Asset Institute and Deputy Director of WA Division of the Asset Institute. Professor Brown is a Founding Fellow and board member of the International Society for Engineering Asset Management (ISEAM) since 2007, a Board Member and President elect of the Australian and New Zealand Academy of Management and, a Board member of PATREC, Planning and Transport Research Centre WA. Prof Brown is a member of the Standards Australia Mirror Committee MB019 Asset Management (since 2010) and a member of the International Standards Organisation ISO Technical Committee TC251 Asset Management.

Alan Dench

Professor Alan Dench

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Humanities, Curtin University Alan’s research has focused on the general description of Australian Aboriginal languages with special emphasis on the languages of the northwest region of Western Australia. His work includes grammatical descriptions of three languages with another grammar (Nyamal) in preparation, field based research on more than ten Western Australian languages, detailed historical and comparative analyses of these languages leading to discussion of methodological and theoretical issues in language description, reconstruction, typological comparison and – most recently – temporal semantics. Other strands of work have included the investigation of the sociolinguistic context of contact between speakers of Australian and European languages in the early days of Australia’s European colonisation. Work has been supported by grants from the ARC, EU and CNRS.
Timothy Colmer

Professor Tim Colmer

Acting Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research), University of Western Australia

Prior to Professor Colmer’s current role in charge of research he was:

Australasian Editor of Annals of Botany ;  Handling Editor of Journal of Experimental Botany;  on the International Review Board of Plant, Cell & Environment; President of the Australian Society of Plant Scientists (2013 & 2014) and served on the International Committee of the International Society for Plant Anaerobiosis (2003-2016). He trained as a plant physiologist with expertise in abiotic stress tolerance, especially salinity, drought, waterlogging and submergence stress.